The not-so-green-mountains of Vermont

That’s the New York Times’ headline for this opinion piece. Some personal issues: One, I just moved to Vermont. In fact I live in Williston, a town mentioned in this op-ed. Two, my late wife, who died last Sept. 27, was a Vermonter by birth. We honeymooned in the Green Mountain State after marrying in the post chapel at Fort Meade, Md. Three, I know Vermont like the back of my proverbial hand. That’s chief among the reasons I moved here after two decades in rusty Pennsylvania, where my wife was  a professor at Penn State University. Fourth, I helped fight some windmill battles in Pennsylvania; I know only too well about the habitat fragmentation and destruction that accompanies such ridgetop development. This is just downright sad. The industrialization of the American native landscape. Damn.

Leave a Reply

